Honoring those who epitomize the highest ideals of older adult living

Award recipient Larry Minnix, with FSO President and CEO Steve Yenchek, and broadcast personality and presenter Merri Dee.

In 2015, we were pleased to honor Larry Minnix, President and CEO of LeadingAge. For more than 45 years, Larry Minnix has been a passionate advocate in not-for-profit aging services. During his 14 years as the LeadingAge president, he has helped to advance a leadership agenda that includes quality improvement, technology, innovation, financing and leadership development. He is a frequent speaker and writer, serves on a number of boards, and has been recognized by peers including the National Council on Aging and the Non-Profit Times.

The Sterling Friendship Award is one of many ways the Friendship Senior Options Foundation honors the contributions of older adults in our society. Every year, the award is presented to an individual age 65 or older in recognition of their significant contributions and accomplishments in our society.

Some of the more prominent recipients in past years include legendary Chicago newsmen Bill Kurtis, Walter Jacobson and Harry Volkman, former DePaul basketball coach Ray Meyer, Art Linkletter, Dr. Joyce Brothers and former Today show weatherman Willard Scott.

17th Annual Sterling Friendship Award Recipient Jim Edgar.

Past Sterling Friendship Award Winners

Ray Meyer
Former DePaul University basketball coach
The Honorable Virginia Macdonald
Former Illinois State Representative
William Warfield
Grammy-Award-winning bass-baritone
Harry Volkman
Longtime Chicagoland weather forecaster
Art Linkletter
Nationally known radio and television personality
Dr. Joyce Brothers
Psychologist, author, and television personality
Willard Scott
NBC "Today" show weatherman and television personality
Dr. Margaret Taylor Goss Burroughs
Founder of the DuSable Museum of African American History in Chicago
Ruth Park
Schaumburg Civic Leader and co-founder of the Schaumburg Business Association
Tom Jaeger
President Emeritus and Consulting Principal of Jaeger, Nickola & Associates Ltd., Architects
Michael Madden
Director of the Schaumburg Township District Library
Robert M. “Bob” Alston
CEO of Friendship Senior Options/Friendship Village
Bill Kurtis and Walter Jacobson
Famed Chicago newsmen
The Alexian Brothers
Catholic Order
Al Larson
Mayor of Schaumburg, Illinois
Merri Dee
Chicago community activist, WGN-TV anchor, author and AARP Illinois State President
Jim Edgar
Former Governor of Illinois
Larry Minnix
President and CEO of LeadingAge
John and Rita Canning
Community leaders and renowned philanthropists

Our Communities